When in Doubt, Throw it Out!

I’m in the process of moving all my arts and crafts stuff from the basement to the guest room which is no longer a guest room but my office/studio.

There’s several reasons for doing this, the main one being is that I don’t want guests. I don’t mean to sound antisocial, but people keep moving in. I want them to stop.

I still mean to have a place in the basement for the occasional I-don’t-have-anyplace-else-to-go-would-you-rather-I-live-in-my-car events. I just don’t want it to be quite as comfortable as the upstairs bedroom with easy access to the kitchen and bathroom. No more out-of-work friends who move in for a month or two and stay four years. Or relatives who seem to think I run a Holiday Inn.

No, I don’t want you to live in your car. I also don’t want to allow myself to be so damned accommodating that I change what my lifestyle is to fit around someone else’s.

Anyway, sorry to rant. Another reason for the move upstairs is because I don’t go downstairs to work. I will go down there to do laundry, but that’s about the extent of it.

I’m also doing a lot of tossing. Purging, if you will. I’m trying to be realistic about what I really want to do and get rid of anything that doesn’t fit into that vision. For example, I’ve always admired macrame and started collecting books and materials so as to make my own wall hangings and planters. That began in the 70’s. I’ve never done macrame. Time to let it go.

Amazing how difficult that is. But I’m doing it.

I’m also giving myself permission to get rid of my late husband’s art supplies. If I can’t use them, or if they’re dried up and nasty, out they go. That’s been hard, too. Silly to get sentimental over a dried up sea sponge.

So here’s what I’ve learned: If I have to think about it too long, it needs to go.

 

2 thoughts on “When in Doubt, Throw it Out!

  1. Love this advice. Today I have been looking around for my skein of blue and another of grey yarn that I know I have, but cannot locate. Time to do some sorting and rearranging and as you so rightly said it–PURGE!! Good for you on the move, and hope they all get the hint that you need to have your house!

  2. Thanks! I know what you mean about not being able to find something that you KNOW you have! So frustrating. I’ve been in flux so long that I’ve forgotten about stuff that I have, hence the going through and tossing. It’s slow, but I’m getting there!

Leave a Reply

