Looking Backward, Looking Forward

It’s the first Monday of December, and I can’t help but think about what I want to accomplish in 2017 and what went down in 2016.

This year was kind of sucky. First, there was the battle with depression–my own, family members and friends. It seemed like there was a lot of it going around. People struggle, and yes, the struggle is real.

Lots of people died this year: entertainers I admired, writers, acquaintances I miss. Leonard Cohen’s death hit me hardest. I thought he’d live forever, eventually becoming some benign Buddhist demigod, always present with his poetry and his music.

Lots and lots of political unrest, things I thought had been settled back in the 60s and 70s. It looks like we’ll be fighting these issues all over again. I worry for my biracial granddaughter, for my great-grandson with Down’s Syndrome, for my gay and lesbian friends and for all the young women for whom reproductive rights are so very relevant.

For my own mental wellness, I try not to dwell on things I have no control over. I can’t help anyone’s depression but my own, so I’ll be working on that. I have no control over life and death, so I’ll concentrate on loving the people I love, and not taking tomorrow for granted.

Politically and socially, I’ll stay aware and informed, and make my voice heard in the guise of letters and other communiques voicing my opinions and my concerns to my elected officials. I won’t stand by silently and let someone be bullied.

I’ll pick up trash, even if it’s not mine.

For me, personally, I look forward to 2017. Instead of my normal, and highly undoable, list of resolutions, I’m going to concentrate on three things: my health, my finances and my clutter. These are the things I struggle with the most and that have the most impact on my life.

It’s going to be an interesting year!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Backward, Looking Forward

  1. What great ideas, and as for the political things, I think you hit on it perfectly when you mentioned those in your life that you fear for. My daughter was a legislator in North Dakota who lost re-election in their big purge this year. It will be real scary what is going to happen to education and women’s health issues, things she and others fought hard to keep somewhat sane. I guess all we have is as you stated our voices to those who were elected, and of course in states we always have the referral process. Happy de cluttering to you. I am working on my own piles…that never end……

Leave a Reply

