A Belated Happy New Year!

January did not go as planned, but then few things ever do. I should be used to that by now. Anyway, February is a brand new month. I’m starting afresh.

First of all, I’m attempting to write this on my new tablet. It was my Christmas gift to myself.  It feels weird; the keyboard is much smaller than I’m used to. But it’s so much more portable than my old laptop.

Next, you’ll be seeing some changes to this web site in the next few weeks. I’m no longer using Grandma Friday as a way to supplement my retirement income, although I’m still open to fun and interesting jobs if any should come my way. What I want to do is to share with you my journey to reinventing myself as a single retiree as opposed to a working wife.

I lost my husband six and a half years ago, and I’m still not used to it. After spending 30 years as part of a couple, this whole single thing just isn’t natural. But I’m learning. It was two years ago yesterday that I retired, and that still seems strange. I feel like I should always be doing something. Then I think, but you don’t have to, so I don’t. Or I start to do this then think I should be doing that and as a result, I’m not getting anything done.

That’s going to change.

When I was working, I used to think of all the things I could do if I didn’t have to work. I’d write. I’d read constantly. I’d take classes and learn to do art. Maybe I’d even clean my house!

That last part is a joke, but not in a funny way. Seems that the more time I have, the less I get done. There are so many time sucks! Between Facebook, Pinterest and old 80’s TV shows, I look up, and suddenly it’s noon, and I’m not dressed.

I don’t want to do that anymore. I want to enjoy my retirement the way I always imagined it. I want my house to be the way I always pictured it, even though that picture keeps changing. So starting today, I’m getting out of my own way. I declare this the REAL start of my retired life and that 2016 is The Year of My House.

Watch me. Join me. Follow me on this journey. I may surprise both of us!

 

Leave a Reply

