The Road to Hell

My mother always said that the road to hell is paved with good intentions, and I have a ton of good intentions. I intend to blog regularly. I intend to pay all my bills when they come in rather then set them aside and lose them in the clutter of my coffee table. I intend to keep my house neat and my coffee table uncluttered.

I intend a lot of things, but seem to accomplish so very little.

I’m easily distracted. The biggest distractions are media, mainly TV and my smarter-than-me phone. Now, from the comfort of my couch, I can get on Facebook, read email, browse websites and play games. I thought the TV thing would get better when I got rid of cable. It didn’t. With antennae TV, I’ve got access to ME TV, Decades, Heroes and any number of old movie channels. Turns out, I’ve really missed watching “Quincy” and “The Commish.” It’s a time-suckfest.

I assumed that when I retired, I’d have a ton of time in which to get things done. I suppose I do have that ton of time, but there are so many things to do. I go to the rec center at least 3 times a week for water aerobics. That takes up whole mornings. I have to walk the dog at least twice a day, because she refuses to poop in the back yard. At least one afternoon a week I spend with a friend helping another friend. There are other friends to meet with, former coworkers and fellow retirees I’m working hard to keep in touch with. New friends I’ve met while exercising or dog walking.

And then there are naps. And books. Lots and lots of books.

What I am finding is that once I let one thing slide, everything else slides down along with it, and suddenly my bills are late, my living room looks like a (dog) toy factory exploded in it, and my kitchen has become a toxic waste dump. It’s overwhelming.

Getting back on track is hard, but I’m working on it. So far today I’ve walked the dog, made my bed, paid all the bills I have, ordered theater tickets, took care of some Grandma Friday business, and wrote this.

There’s a zillion more things to do, but the TV is off, and the smarter-than-me phone is tucked away in my pocket, recording my steps. Steps I’m taking in the right direction.

The hell with good intentions, I’m getting things done!

Leave a Reply

