Where the Hell Does the Day Go?

I keep getting asked, “So now that you’re retired, how do you fill your days?”

I never quite know how to answer, because the truth is, I have no idea.

I do know that I’m always busy, I’m seldom home, and I don’t seem to ever accomplish anything. It is a puzzlement.

Most mornings are spent on exercise. There’s a Tai Chi class on Mondays. I go to aqua aerobics on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays (and Sundays during the summer).

The rest of Tuesday I spend with a couple of friends, one of whom is unable to drive anymore. We go to lunch and schlep the non-driving one around for shopping and doctor appointments.

Wednesday mornings or afternoons I meet another friend for either a late breakfast or lunch to talk about writing and business. We’re each working on several writing projects and even have a couple of things we’re doing together. At least we talk about doing them.

I recently acquired a little shelter dog and she requires walking several times a day. Apparently, she is unable to poop in her own yard. I don’t mind the walks right now, because I definitely need the exercise, but I’m not sure I’ll feel the same way in a few months when there’s a foot of snow on the ground.

And then there are all the normal chores of living. That’s where I get hung up. I hate to clean. I don’t do it often and I’m not very good at it. For example, I’ve been cleaning my bathroom for the past 5 weeks. It’s a small bathroom, but there are many, many distractions.

Putting away the Vaseline entails opening the medicine cabinet, which leads to purging old prescriptions which leads to getting on the computer to look up what to do with old medicine which leads to Facebook or Pinterest or—God help us all–Free Cell.

I’m also trying to declutter my house as well as muck it out and make it habitable.

Once in a great while, I actually manage to write something.

I’m really enjoying being retired. I just wish I were better at it.

Leave a Reply

