Yikes! I’m Actually Going to Do This!

I’m a month later than I thought I would be, but finally, I’m ready to start being Grandma Friday.

I have business cards, a logo, a website (!), I’m registered with the both the city and the state. Grandma even has a bank account. Guess I’m serious about this.

Now it’s just a matter of getting the word out and waiting for the phone to ring (ha! That’s a joke). Seriously, now is when the work really starts.

First, there’s talking to people, a sometimes scary activity, especially when I’m basically saying, “hi, let me work for you and give me money for it.” I know I’m not alone in feeling this way; other small business owners tell me that they struggle, also.

What’s worse, being rejected by total strangers (cold calling) or by friends and friends of friends (networking)? My buddy Gayle Marquez (who designed my logo, btw, check here out at Hot Creative) was given this great piece of advice by another freelancer:  “Don’t think of it as rejection. Rejection is good, because it means you’re putting yourself out there.”

It’s what I learned from my two days of working for Time-Life Books back in the early 80’s. It’s a numbers game. The more people I talked to, the more books I sold.

It’ll work the same way here. I’ll talk to folks, send out emails, announce my services on Facebook, blog, talk to more folks. The work will come. I’ll do this and that and then the other thing.

Then maybe, finally, I’ll figure out what it really is I want to do when I grow up.

 

Leave a Reply

